I need help…

Heh heh…

So here I am again. Debating whether or not I should be using WordPress.

For anyone that has been following me and my blogging you all know how great my attempt at hosting my own blog with WordPress. com  went. About as good as a long tailed cat in a room full of rocking chairs. It was ugly.

I’m not looking to hop on the self-hosting bandwagon (at least not yet).

I however do miss the layout and options of WordPress.com. I initially hopped on over to blogger because I could have my domain name and have it self hosted for almost nothing. I also could add JavaScript/HTML widgets. Something you cannot do with WordPress.com. They only allow arbitrary HTML, no JavaScript. The other nice thing was I could ad AdSense with no extra effort.

Now at face value it seems like the right thing to do, but now I’m really missing the layouts and options of WordPress.com.

Blogger templates are limited and even if you find a good one to upload, it takes a good amount of HTML and CSS knowledge to navigate your way through the complicated layout. Most templates are 2 columns, and no additional features.

So here I am again… wanting to change. I think I’m an idiot, really. But ultimately I think I just need some good solid opinions from my wonderful readers and friends.

What do you think I should do?

I can move back over to WordPress.com, with not a whole lot of effort and keep my domain: www.2bestrong.net.

What do ya think I should do?

Is it worth the effort???

I really need some input here.

Thanks.

Strong One

9 Responses

  1. What sorts of problems were you having with self-hosted WP?

  2. I would be happy to chat with you on this, Strong…

  3. @ Phil
    @ Ken No ‘problems’ perse. I just didn’t have the time/money/commitment for a self-hosted WP. I loved WP.com, but couldn’t use Javascript. So I many switch to WP.com even with no Java.

  4. I’ve opted to follow the self-hosted path with WordPress. It avoids the inflexibility of Blogger, but that doesn’t mean there aren’t challenges. Finding a good theme is the hard part. I’m using a theme called Tarski, which is good enough for what I need now, but I know that at some point in the future I will have to move on to something else. What, I don’t know, but ultimately it will likely be some kind of custom-designed thing, meaning that it will either be a lay-out of cash, or a fairly steep learning curve. But I realize for now that the main issues I need to deal with are creating quality content and building a regular reader base. The other stuff will come later, and there is certainly no urgency. Plus, I add to my skills a bit from week to week anyway.

    I think I’ve made the right choice. The flexibility that comes with WordPress is always waiting for me. I just need to give myself the time to learn how to use it.

    Hope this helps…

  5. @ Jerry I appreciate your input. Thank you!

  6. What is wrong with what you got? This seems to be working fine.

  7. I’m self hosted on wordpress. I like it and haven’t had too many problems. Granted my site is not exactly eye poppingly interesting to look at. Someday I’m going to pay someone to make it look nice but for now, wordpress has everything I need.

  8. Im a wordpresser
    and a dinosaur.
    when I get something started Im terrible about changing it (uh, computerstuff I mean) for fear of never reassembling.

  9. @ Mark
    @ Caroline
    @ MizFit As you can see, WordPress won out over Blogger. I don’t have any plans for self hosting anytime soon, but i did miss the look and feel or WordPress.
    Thank you all for your input.

Leave a Reply

