Raining Cats and Dogs??

Due to the continuous unappreciated gift of rain in my neck of the woods, I hear this phrase more often than I’d like to admit.

I heard it the other day, and had to wonder, how in the world did we ever come up with a phrase about the ongoing battle of our pets that gives reference to a type of weather?

I mean as long as I’ve been inhabiting this earth… I can’t say I’ve ever seen a dog or a cat fall from the sky? (outside of the occasional mishap from a tree)

So I had to Google it. LOL

Here are, in my humble opinion, the best references of explanation for this very unusual weather report.

Cat’s & Dogs the Wiki Way

The Phrase Finder’s answer

Idiom’s Answer

I must say, it also brought back childhood memories of what thunder was compared to. I can vaguely remember someone telling me that thunder was simply ‘God’, or ‘The Gods’ bowling. And the sound of thunder was simply their bowling ball rolling across the sky.

Heh heh… I love how we answer the unanswerable.

 

Bookmark and Share

5 Responses

  1. Oh! i love those.

    like how “sleep tight” is because the bottom of beds used to ropes so to be more comfortable they would have to tighten them every night.

    and how “mind you P’s and Q’s” was when they didnt have bar tabs they used tally marks on a chalkboard, and if you got too drunk or didnt pay attention, they would slip in extra taly marks to charge you more. p’s are pints and q’s are quarts. yeah im really only good for useless information.

    http://www.groundedfitness.com

  2. Oh! i love those.

    like how “sleep tight” is because the bottom of beds used to ropes so to be more comfortable they would have to tighten them every night.

    and how “mind you P’s and Q’s” was when they didnt have bar tabs they used tally marks on a chalkboard, and if you got too drunk or didnt pay attention, they would slip in extra taly marks to charge you more. p’s are pints and q’s are quarts. yeah im really only good for useless information.

    http://www.groundedfitness.com

  3. @ Kelly LMAO.. those are too funny.

  4. It’s been “raining cats and dogs” over here in the UK too :-). I’ve never even thought about the origins of the phrase. I can just imagine how funny all the cats and dogs slipping through the roof would be.

  5. @ Tom Especially if they’re big!

Leave a Reply

