Ssshhh… Quiet please I paid to watch this movie

How many of us still frequent the Cinema? How many of us still think that some movies are worth the money they charge for a movie ticket these days? How many of us go to the movies… and buy a snack or two?

Well my wife and I still like to see movies on the big screen, unfortunately we always consider it quite the ‘crap-shoot’.

Our biggest complaint, ok MY biggest complaint is the inconsideration and rudeness of the fellow public. I have been a movie-goer ever since the drive-thru ‘Star Wars’ days. (Yes I’m showing my age). What I can’t figure out is why individuals will pay money to watch a movie.. and pay the money for a snack and drink.. and then TALK THE ENTIRE MOVIE. They some how think they are in the privacy of their own home, or better yet they simply do not care or do not have the common courtesy or public etiquette to keep their flippin’ traps shut!!! (pardon my language)Angry

 

My wife and I have succumbed to saving money by usually going to a matinee. And even during those show times we seem to always find the A**Holes who can’t simply just watch the DANG movie.Chatterbox

It turns into a mini circus sometimes with all the snickering and chit-chat. The crazy part of all this is their not even TRYING to be decent. They’re not even trying to keep the volume of their voices low. NOOOOOO. Instead they keep laughing .. and joking… raising all kinds of ruckus. All the while we and I’d like to believe the rest of the movie theater is trying to actually watch the movie that we paid good money to see.

Yep, I admit it. I have on more than one occasion made quite a scene by calling them out in the middle of the theater. I’ve been calm and cooperative.. as well as rude, loud and mean. Yep.. my wife has also done it. LOL Each time I never feel guilty for losing my cool… and I always get a ‘good-job’ nod from at least a handful of the fellow ‘victims’ in the theater.

My wife and I have even gone so far as to get the management of the theater involved. (yep it’s been that bad)

I just don’t seem to understand where people learn this blatant disregard for common decency.

Needless to say my wife and I are now very picky when it comes to whether or not a movie is worth ‘risking’ the adventure. And it’s a shame that it’s come to that.

I’ve gone from an avid movie lover to a tiresome passerby.

Am I alone on this?

Carpe Diem

Share this post :

 

11 Responses

  1. I can totally relate!! I just watched Speedracer — I know, don’t laugh — a few weeks ago and some dummy kept answering his cell phone during the movie. Unfortunately, there were only about 5 people in the theater so it would have been very obvious if I had told him to shutup. This guy had come in after the movie started, so I had no idea what he looked like and whether or not my brother would be able to “handle it” if I started a fight. Ha!

  2. not alone at ALL.

    and why Im more a renter now….

  3. @Gemmerzz Heh heh I know the feeling. It’s tough to just sit there, but do you really want/need to start a ruckus over a movie.
    @Mizfit we rent more now due to this happening all too often.

  4. No, not at all — but I always seem to have to open my big mouth. (Yes, I admit it!)

    One time at a seafood buffet, I yelled, er, commented to someone for taking over a dozen fresh oysters at one time, leaving none for us (the 5 people standing behind him).

    My mother said to me, ‘Don’t make such a big deal out of such little things. For all you know, he’s a psycho. Could you imagine if you were in tomorrow’s paper with the headline Woman Shot Dead Over Oysters?’

    Thanks, mom.

  5. @GEMMERZZ Well said. Heh heh.

  6. lol true.

    I find myself preferring the first or last show these days & would much rather go alone so I can enjoy something that I really can’t wait to see on video. I’ve been plagued by loud people lately and they never seem to fit a pattern! I guess they don’t mind wasting 8.50.

  7. @Leslie I find no rhyme or reason to the madness unfortunately, so it’s always a gamble.

  8. You now, I got very tired of that… We invested in a 50″ plasma and have loved it… now I just need to convince the wife on a surround sound system 😉

  9. @Ken Best of luck with that…. and I’m jealous.

  10. Totally agree with what you are saying 2bestrong. I don’t go to the cinemas that much but thankfully when I do any chatterers usually get it out of the system during the trailer. I can’t believe some people have actually answered their phones mid-film. That’s ridiculous.

  11. @Tom It’s a sad state of affairs that some people forget where they are.

Leave a Reply

