To Be Strong

I have been an active person all my life. Ever since I can remember playing backyard pick-up games of football, baseball, soccer, volleyball, etc. I’ve always enjoyed being active.

I can remember as a pre-teen I was fascinated by my dad’s weight set down in the basement. I started ‘playing’ around with those weights on my own.. learning what I could do.. and not do!

That interest rolled over into my high school years as a student athlete. I played volleyball as a middle school student, and had plans on simply playing volleyball as a high school student. Somehow the high school swim coach recruited me into joining. (As a way of keeping in shape for volleyball he said)

I ended up enjoy swimming and playing volleyball my 4 years of high school.

Then college came. A very big shock to my physical body. I no longer could ‘play’ sports, or go work out. I had to go to class.. and work to pay my bills and eat!

So over the next 7 years I think a total of a year was spent enjoying physical activity on a personal level. I tried many times to maintain some sort of balance with physical activity.. but it always fell short.

The irony of it all is I started college as an Engineering major. 3 years into school I changed my major to Exercise and Sports Science! I then graduated with a BS and started working as an ATC (Certified Athletic Trainer). Go figure. Heh heh.

My life took many twists and turns, hills and valleys through the years as an ATC. Hop scotching in and out of that profession for monetary reasons.

Then 6 years ago I got hurt and had to stay in the hospital for 2 days. An infamous incident that changed my life.

I have since then gone to nursing school and have been an RN (Registered Nurse) for the past 3 years. A job I have grown to love and enjoy.

Over these past….. 10 years or so my physical activity has taken some serious blows. One minute I’m in the best physical shape of my life.. the next minute.. I can barely pick up a glass of water.  I won’t dive into those details just yet, but the end to my means is this:

I’m now back in good.. heck almost a great healthy condition these days. I have combined my personal experiences, fellow friends and colleagues experiences, my formal education and knowledge and simple curiosity to get back ‘into it’.

I love exercising, I love how it makes me feel. I do not however love to watch what I eat, nor worry about my diet. But unfortunately it plays an important role in your daily life’s health.

So this blog I created is about learning and living to be strong. Strong physically and strong mentally.

Mentally physical toughness… or maybe Physically Mental toughness?

Either way, you can’t have one without the other. Being physically tough and mentally weak.. gets you nowhere fast. And being physically weak and mentally tough can get your hurt. My interest and goal here is to share what I know, what I find, and how I go about ‘staying strong’.

Look out world. Here I come.

Carpe Diem

Share this post :

 

 

4 Responses

  1. Interesting to go from studying engineering to ATC to nursing. Seems like there are more folks turning the corners with their careers.

    Good luck with the blog.

  2. @Phil Thanks, I’m going to do my best.

  3. […] lead to another and last year I surfaced with ‘2bestrong’ on wordpress.com, here is my first post. I knew I liked to blog, but I wasn’t ready to ‘reveal’ me. So I blogged and had a […]

  4. […] lead to another and last year I surfaced with ‘2bestrong’ on wordpress.com, here is my first post. I knew I liked to blog, but I wasn’t ready to ‘reveal’ me. So I blogged and had a […]

Leave a Reply

